Everything you need to know about NAATI CCL test


NAATI CCL Test can be your key to Australian Permanent Residency

By M Toufiqur Rahman

From March 2018, NAATI has introduced a new testing system for people seeking to migrate in Australia. If you pass NAATI CCL Test(Credential Community Language Test), you can claim 5 points for your points based Australian skilled migration. 

“If you pass CCL, you can not work as an interpreter or translator. You need to have at least  either provisional interpreter or translator certification to work.”

Some common queries about NAATI CCL

Where can I give NAATI CCL test (test locations)?

You can not sit for CCL test from outside Australia. NAATI test centre is available only in the following cities.
  1. Adelaide
  2. Brisbane
  3. Canberra
  4. Hobart
  5. Melbourne
  6. Perth
  7. Sydney


What are the available languages for NAATI CCL Test?

Although there are 6,500 languages in the world, Naati CCL Test is available in only 47 following languages. 

  1. Albanian
  2. Arabic
  3. Assyrian
  4. Bangla
  5. Bosnian
  6. Bulgarian
  7. Burmese
  8. Cantonese
  9. Croatian
  10. Czech
  11. Dari
  12. Dutch
  13. Filipino
  14. Finnish
  15. French
  16. German
  17. Greek
  18. Hazaragi
  19. Hindi
  20. Hungarian
  21. Indonesian
  22. Italian
  23. Japanese
  24. Khmer
  25. Korean
  26.  Lao
  27.  Malay
  28.  Mandarin

  29.  Pashto

  30.  Nepali

30. Pashto

31. Persian

32. Polish

33. Portuguese

34. Punjabi

35. Romanian

36. Russian

37. Serbian

38. Sinhalese

39. Somali

40. Spanish

41. Swahili

42. Tamil

43. Thai

44. Tigrinya

45. Turkish

46. Urdu

47. Vietnamese

How the test is marked?

At least two trained examiners mark CCL tests independently. The CCL test comprises two dialogues and each dialogue is marked by the examiner using a deductive marking system. Examiners consider the types of error present in the candidate’s performance and the impact of those errors in determining the deductions they will make. Each dialogue receives a mark out of 45. In order to pass a candidate needs to score at least 29 out of 45 for each dialogue and score at least 63 out of 90 overall. When NAATI issues the result for the CCL test it will be based on the mark achieved:


  • PASS: 63 or higher (out of 90)
  • MARGINAL FAIL: between 55 and 62.5 (out of 90)
  • CLEAR FAIL: less than 55 (out of 90)

How can I sit for a NAATI CCL test?

Applications to sit a NAATI CCL Test must be submitted online via the NAATI website. Individuals will also need to attach a passport photograph and a scan of an appropriate identity document (e.g. passport) to apply. Passport must be in PDF format and Passport photo has to be in JPEG format.

How long it takes for the result to be published ?

 It can take up to 8 weeks for the test result to be published. 

What is the fees for CCL test?


Can I sit for the exam, if I fail?

Yes! You can sit for the exam again, if you are unsuccessful. But keep it in mind that giving a CCL test is comparatively expensive and time consuming, We always recommend our students to sit for the exam with proper preparation and pass in your first attempt.

How Can I book the exam ?

Please simply follow the link below to book your CCL test:


Source: https://www.naati.com.au

You might also enjoy